Prescott Resort and the Yavapai-Prescott Nation

This morning I called the Yavapai-Prescott Tribe to chat about the controversy the new Arizona Immigration law has generated among WLA conference goers. The Prescott Resort is owned and operated by the Y-P tribe and is located on that sovereign nation’s land. The economic benefit, then, goes largely to the tribe. They are eager to welcome us in October.

best,

Gioia

7 Responses to “Prescott Resort and the Yavapai-Prescott Nation”

  1. Jaime Puente Says:

    Thank you for keeping the membership updated on this. You were right to bring it up on the email list, and it saddens me that so many would disregard the importance of it because of their email box.

  2. Alex Hunt Says:

    Agreed–thanks Gioia. That email discussion was heartening and I didn’t find it an inappropriate venue. Keep us posted–I like the way that the blog shows up on facebook.

  3. Brett Westbrook Says:

    This is an important issue and I’m debating with myself, talking to others. If I go, I will write everyone agency I can think of, tell them I’m going to Arizona for the last time, and that all of the money I spend will on land owned by the Y-P Tribe.

  4. Michael K. Johnson Says:

    I have noticed on other email discussion lists, that an outcry about too much mail in inboxes often serves as a means of shutting down a discussion. It is disheartening to see repeatedly vigorous debate and discussion get shut down for that reason, particularly with academic discussion lists, which, supposedly, were created as a forum for such debate and discussion.

  5. David Cremean Says:

    Yes, Michael–and I think we’ve seen one of the same shutdowns another time.

    Gioia, keep up the good, hard work–and as always, let me know if I can do anything to help out.

    Dave

  6. Gioia Says:

    Here’s how we can all help: we can encourage our colleagues to take this on with all the intellectual innovation we can muster. For instance, why not propose panels and papers that blend literary and cultural criticism with political analysis? Primary literary texts with political trends and documents? Literature, like any art, reveals our shared and contested cultural values. Among the many rich discussions we will surely have about western literature–roundtables, panels, readings–I hope to see creative, innovative discussion in Prescott that signal the ways we can look to our literature to “make sense” of the current political mileau.

  7. jeremy denouden Says:

    RE: the email list, I think the issue is directly related to what function people view the email list as serving. I think many people, including myself, see the list-serv as a way to communicate important association related news and events. If this is the case, lengthy conversations about what should be done and how should then be carried out on this blog or on facebook. On the other hand, if the list-serv is actually supposed to be seen as an email discussion list, it wasn’t “sold” as such, and the exodus of those not interested in the particularities of what happens and how is entirely understandable.


Leave a Reply

