More on True Grit

Thanks to Pam’s post on the forthcoming Coen Brothers film True Grit (a new adaptation of the novel rather than a remake of the 1969 film), I’ve been thinking about the original True Grit film with John Wayne, which I don’t believe I’ve seen in many a year. It was a kick to look back at the trailer of the film.

I remember True Grit vividly as one of the first (if not the very first) “adult”movies (that is, not a film intended for children) that I saw. Having looked back at the trailer, I realized, however, that while my memory of the experience is vivid, I recognized very few of the details. In fact, as with many movies from my childhood, I actually remember the Mad magazine parody (dubbed True Fat: “I’m looking for a man with true fat”) in more detail than the actual film.

Through the magic of wikipedia, I came across a list of Mad magazine movie parody titles, which had several cleverly re-titled famous westerns:
Hah! Noon
Cheyenne Awful
Botch Casually and the Somedunce Kid
A Fistful of Lasagna
The Misery Breaks
The Shootiest
Mavershtick
Mild Mild Mess

Leave a Reply

